Archive | November 13, 2007

Our Current Homeschool schedule

So my friend Duck Soup wanted to see how others schedule their days. So here you go my friend.

  • We get up sometime between 7:30 and 8:30 am, this really depends on who is sick and how I’m feeling with my fibro.
  • We grab some breakfast, which isn’t always breakfast food, could be peanut butter bread with cinnamon on it, leftovers if it is a favorite meal from the night before.
  • Since my oldest homeschooling son is dyslexic we have a language heavy curriculum this year, so we start off with:
  • Bible, Spelling, Wordly Wise 3000, Word Study D, Sonlight’s LA program, handwriting,reading and any creative writing he needs to do.
  • By this time, I usually have to leave to go to my college classes, the husband is home with them. While I’m gone the son does his Saxon Math using the DIVE CD, then when I get home we do whatever he didn’t finish, and cover (if a bit weakly right now) history and the read alouds. This week and next week we are studying the pilgrims out of context as we are kind of stuck  at the Inca’s, Aztec’s and Mayan’s.
  • Because of time constraints we will be covering our science this summer covering Botany.

We at times cover things on saturday in order to catch up from lost week days, like this week since I had my MOPS meeting and the kids go with me. We cover art and music whenever we can fit it in. Sundays are for sunday school, church and youth group activities. This winter my son is finally old enough to play basketball on the city leagues, and boy is he excited. I can cover most subjects with my first grader and kindergartener while the 4th grader is doing his morning routine. The husband finishes up where ever I leave off. I try to combine them as much as possible to save myself some time and anguish. I am thinking that we will be reading some history and read alouds during the christmas break. I’m sure I will hear about that but, I at times delight in challenging my children’s ideas of learning.