Lemoa, Quiche

Is a tiny little village up in the mountains of Guatemala, 6500 feet above sea level!!!!! The people are Native Americans and speak the Quiche language. So when we taught childbirthing, nutrition, homeopathy to the women there, Lori translated my words into Spanish, then one of the women would translate her words into Quiche for those who did not know Spanish. It was interesting to say the least, as you never want to talk faster than the person who is translating your words 😉

I had printed out pictures of the different ways a baby can be positioned in the womb, pictures of birthing, as well as pictures of stages of labor! They had never seen anything like that before!!! We talked gently about ways to space children and how much more difficult birthing can be if one is too young or too old. I had to be very careful with my wording here because most of these women were Catholic and I would never willingly insult their religious beliefs. Nutrition was covered but again that was difficult because these women are very poor! so I had to ask them what they could eat that was cheap and then give them ideas of how to keep their sugar down, during pregnancy, not to spill protein in their urine, ect. 

The women wore their “sunday best” which means they were all in their native dress! They are amazing to me! Their clothing is just so beautiful!!!! I loved seeing them nurse their babies/toddlers in public! What the US has issues with does not exist in Guatemala! 

Since I am having issues with photobucket!!!! I uploaded these directly into my post, they will not be in order but I will try to tell you something about them!

IMG_6795

Here we are teaching the women, notice that they are listening while weaving straw hats! They do this for income but barely get more than enough to buy more. We are trying to brainstorm ideas of what we could teach them to make that would be more lucrative for them to make that will give them something to do with their hands but yet produce a bigger income.

IMG_6786

Here are 5 of the 13 women we had come. One left after the morning session, another arrived. These women were so welcoming and loving! They mentioned that I look very young and I laughed and told them I have more grey hair than the one elderly lady you see here with her granddaughter, but that I cover mine up with hair dye!!! They loved the fact that I was willing to share my secrets with them! God has given me the gift of trust-building and I treasure it greatly.

IMG_6742

Here are the 2 MaryKnoll nuns that run the MaryKnoll place where we stayed while in Lemoa. To the left is Sister Connie, to the right is Sister Helen~ she is 93 years old and so very spry and intelligent!!! I want to be like her when I grow up!

IMG_6740

THe lake we could see from inside the classroom where we taught

IMG_6739

See the fields? They use every part of these mountains that they can to grow food! It is very beautiful to see the mountains and hills there.

IMG_6738

The village

IMG_6733

This man’s name is Gregorio! He is 73 and quite outspoken! He is the groundskeeper/caretaker of the church associated with the MaryKnoll nuns.

IMG_6726

Sister Connie, we joked because she is holding a flower called the “White Nun” and of course she is a “white nun”!!!!

IMGP0494

The church!!! With Doug, Ron and our driver Francisco!!! PS~ the only reason I am alive is because he is such an excellent driver!!! The hills to Lemoa are frighteningly scary!

IMGP0489

I know this is blurry but it is a tiny staircase and I was leaning in to get a picture!!! I loved it, but I couldn’t get a good balance leaning in without support.

IMGP0486

These are used during celebrations and parades.

IMGP0481

More statues!

IMGP0475

The solar cooker that is in the courtyard!

 

 

IMGP0474

I believe this plant is called “Crown of Thorns” but I may be wrong!

IMGP0476

The courtyard is so beautiful with tons of different plants! both herbs, and flowers with a few tomato plants as well.

IMG_6727

The nun’s garden!!!

IMG_6604

For my coffee loving friends~ a coffee tree that was given to Sister Helen when she came to Lemoa 27 years ago…..She was given 2 of them and they do produce coffee beans for her.

I hope you enjoyed this very brief look into an indigenous village and my teaching time in Lemoa! I hope to go back and teach more about childbirth to the women and the midwives there!!!

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Lemoa, Quiche

  1. Gorgeous post. I read a blog post on InCulture Parent about breast feeding in Mongolia. The poster had expressed some breast milk at work and popped it on the fridge for later, when she went back to get it someone had drunk it. No one has any qualms about drinking breast milk in Mongolia. It would seem that only the West has issues with what breasts were actually designed for. (Which I find very odd, after all Jesus was breastfed.)

    • I really don’t understand it at all! It was wonderful to see breastfeeding so openly accepted!!! I think it is all because we have issues with sex and breasts are supposed to be sexual not nourishment for our babies! *shaking head* I truly just don’t understand western society and it’s values.

      • Exactly! First and foremost breasts are functional. The sexualisation of breasts is a huge downfall of western culture.

Leave a Reply

