My favorite tourist place in Guatemala

I finally have a moment to start blogging about my trip and really wanted to share my favorite place I went as a tourist~ The Ruins of Iximche. When I was a little girl I really wanted to grow up and be an anthropologist/archeologist, so there is nothing better than walking around old stones and listening to the stories behind them for me.

The map of Iximche~ it looks really small but there were acres of land, all green and beautiful to walk through~

This was once a temple to the Sun~ all the buildings had 4 corners with 20 angles or edges to them because 20 is a magic number to the ancient Maya, it is the number of our fingers and toes! So simple really, as it the number 13, because of the number of joints in the body: two wrists, elbows, shoulders, hips, knees, ankles and your neck. 13 times 20 = 260 days, the number of days in the Mayan calendar, which also coincides with the average days of gestation for a woman and how long before the corn was ripe. Perfectly logical!

Games were played here, similar to soccer but the ring was up in the air and one could only use the upper leg form hip to knee to propel the ball through the ring. 

Only the areas A and B were restored to some extent, I can’t remember all of the details of that, but it had something to do with a Swiss man and some project or another. 

The tour guide told us that a skull was found here from some beheading……most likely an offering of an enemy

The red circle is to point out the very light blue ink that once was Mayan art on the rock!

I took tons of photos while I was there! It was such a beautiful, old place and so very peaceful in spite of the knowledge of human sacrifices…..our tour guide was very knowledgeable and I heard things that I had read in a book to The Ark when he was younger! I really need to reread that book just for me now.

There were 4 women their with a few children, praying to God, since July 12th is the day of clarity. They were praying that God would give them clarity for their life…. reminding me of how many times I prayed Jeremiah 29:11, when faced with not knowing what the Lord’s plan was for me.

The women are wearing their native Mayan dress, the top is called a Huipil, the skirt a corda, I can’t remember what the belt is called. 

I can’t remember what this was for, perhaps more sacrifices?

While I can’t read this right now, I believe it tells the story of Iximche history. One day I plan to blow it up and translate it for myself. In case you haven’t figured it out yet, I love history and walking around ruins was so exciting for me! I long to do more of that in my future, God willing. I hope you enjoyed this peak into my trip, there is more to come as I get a few minutes. 

5 thoughts on “My favorite tourist place in Guatemala

  1. It was beautiful, and peaceful. The interesting part to me was at the end, we looked over a ravine, and he told the story of how Guatemala got its name. Something about garbled translation into Spanish to explain the home or place of many trees, and it came out Guate…mala..a rough translation from the indigenous language there. Just fascinating! Thanks for chronicling this, Rose!!!

Leave a Reply

