Kendra and The Ark

I never made it to her post and since then The Ark has had a birthday……..She is now 16, while he is 13, so I’m back to having 2 teenagers in the house.

Kendra is most of the time a sweet girl but I’m still having issues with her behavior, her father calls from prison every day to talk to her and sends her letters undermining us frequently. I’m so tired of him, his illness and his vindictiveness. At this point, I feel as if I”m just doing time until she graduates and moves out. I keep trying to let her see that I”m not what her father claims but she has on blinders and only sees what lies he tells her and I’m just angry and tired of it already. I wish I had something positive to say about her, but the only thing I can think of is that she is beautiful and can be amusing when she wants to be. Neither of those characters will get her far in the real world though and her negative characters are making life hard.

On a more positive note, The Ark is doing well, still struggling with the added responsibility of school but at least he is trying more. I’m seeing him maturing right before my eyes and that is wonderful to watch. He is enjoying confirmation class and is learning quite a bit, although he hates doing sermon notes. We had a representative from  Thrivent come in and talk, to the kids and their parents, I couldn’t go so we sent Jasmine instead. She learned alot as did the Ark. I’m so happy for them, to learn things about money management now and not much later in life. He is starting to get the concept of respect much better than before.

So while we still struggle with Kendra I can see God’s hands on my son, and that gives me hope, that everything will be ok in the long run. I know this was short and nothing like I had planned but I’m a bit stressed today and wanted to get something down versus nothing at all. Although I might take a page off of FourSquares and try to post a weekly report on school at the end of the week.


One thought on “Kendra and The Ark

  1. (((((hugs)))))
    I am sorry that things are difficult. I can so totally relate to your comment about just buying time until he/she moves out. I felt like that with my daughter and now at times I feel like that with my son. Someone once told me that those difficult teenage years were God’s way of preparing parents for the time when their children left the house and to make the transition so much easier—instead of being sad, we rejoice when they leave! As you probably know from your older ones though, it does get better once again after they have been away. Now our relationship is so much better and when she comes to visit, I enjoy my time with her.

    I will be praying.

Leave a Reply

