Thoughts for Next School Year?

I’m wondering how many of you are looking at next year’s curriculum already? I know that I am. only because I have to get my ducks in order soon. I need to decide what we liked about this year and what we didn’t like.  I will be ordering books as soon as we get the stimulus package from our gov. Since I am using my refund for closing on our house.

Things we liked:

  1. Saxon Math
  2. Sonlight’s Core for History, Readers, Read Alouds , Bible and some of the Science.
  3. Spelling Power
  4. MCP Word Study
  5. learning how to notebook
  6. lapbooking

Things we didn’t like:

  1. Sonlight’s Lang. Arts~ too much work for a dyslexic child
  2. Wordly Wise 3000 ~ just a bit too hard yet.
  3. The things we didn’t like about Sonlight’s Science is that  it jumps around a bit too much
  4. Landmark’s History text.

We will be doing Sonlight Core 4 in the fall with the following changes:

  1. Story of the World vols 3+4 instead of Landmark, as well as the coloring pages.
  2. Lifepacs for Noah’s Lang. Arts.
  3. Exploring Creation~ Astronomy in addition to SL Core Science.

Well, that is the beginning of our curriculum for next year. What are you planning?

3 thoughts on “Thoughts for Next School Year?

  1. I’ve started a new homeschool meme for Mondays and I thought that you might be interested. If you want to participate, just write a post about a highlight from your past week of home learning. Then, come to my blog and sign Mr. Linky.

  2. I wish my boys liked to lapbook. We have used SOTWs 1-4. I know they aren’t perfect, but they certainly fit the bill for our history studies. We did Astronomy a couple years ago and it is fantastic!

    I know Landmark’s can be dry, but they’re so informative & correct. We use them here and there.

    Yes, I know all the controversy of SOW but we like it anyway 😉 We are doing Botany this summer and then will hit Astronomy this fall. If I survive right now that is.

  3. Michielle, I don’t know how you do all that you do, especially lately. I am quite sure you’ll get it all done somehow.
    Phil 4:13, my friend!

    PS, I linked back to this post.

Leave a Reply

