Today’s memories from Tommy’s mom

We stopped in today to do a bit of laundry and Tommy wanted to steam clean her basement carpet. I went out and went to Walmart for school supplies. We got back and Tommy’s mom came home soon after so we had a chance to visit. She told me a couple of things that I want to remember. Her mother came from Czechoslovakia when she was 12 yrs. old. Of course she did everything the old fashioned way. She used to can most of her food every fall. She used to grow things in a wheelbarrow and then pull it into the sun. She used to plant the pit from her peaches. One of them actually grew into a tree but my MIL’s neighbor got mad at the kids making noise and cut it down out of spite, on my MIL’s property yet. I asked MIL, how she met Tommy’s dad as I have never heard that story, she was beaming about that one and promised to write it down for me. She said that she is working on writing down some of her memories from her side and Tommy’s dad’s family’s. So we will have some of them. I plan to write down whatever she tells me about her family as I hear them. I will have to write down things about my gram that I remember.

6 thoughts on “Today’s memories from Tommy’s mom

  1. I just love memories. That is so neat that you can do that. I could sit for hours and listen to people speak about thier childhood.

    How neat about the wheelbarrow my great grandmother did that also.

  2. That’s a great idea to write down the stories. I wish that I’d been able to spend more time w/my grandmothers so that I could have listened to their stories. I never thought that I’d lose them and now the stories are gone unless someone in the families thought to record or write down what they said – it’s doubtful.

  3. It’s really good to write down memories. I have a “memories” file on my computer, and I jot down memories of my family and childhood as I remember them. I wish I had done it earlier. I seem to have forgotten a lot of the talks I had with my great grandmother as a child. The last time I saw her I was twelve, and I didn’t pay as close attention as I should have. You know how it is when you’re twelve – you think everyone is going to live forever, even your 92 year old great grandma. 🙂

  4. I love to hear stories from older relatives. Many of my older relatives are gone now, but when they were alive, I used to ask them about their life. They always seemed pleased to be asked and kindly told me some stories from their past. I’m so glad that I asked my grandmother how she met my grandfather. Had I not asked, I would have never known.

  5. I wish I had written down more of what my grandmother had told me but I’m hoping that by starting to write it down it will spark my memory. I do remember a bit of how my gram met my grandfather.

Leave a Reply

