Planning June 23, 2005

We finally finished The Phonics Museum -K book!!!! It took us two years since we have to deal with dyslexia and we have stopped to review and repeat often. But we have done it and my Noah is finally starting to get the idea of decoding words. Next week we start the first grade book. I wish that I had realized that this was a full 4 yr phonics program as I would have stretched it out better and not been so stressed when we fell behind due to the dyslexia. But when I use it again for the three little ones I will be stretching it out better.

I am printing out pages to start a record/planning journal as I’m having a hard time keeping track of what we are doing since I have changed some of our Sonlight stuff around to accomodate my preferences. I switched SOW for CHOW and there is so much extra stuff I have added in. I’m trying to integrate notebooking also.

Plus I have decided to do some preschool stuff with Adrien this year just to get him used to sitting down for about 30 minutes a day. He will be 5 in october. I don’t have to start him until next year but I want him to have a better grasp of letter sounds than Noah did in kindergarten. This way maybe just maybe teaching him to read won’t be quite so hard.

I’m trying to decide if I will school Adrien and Camryn together to save me some time and trouble. Then I would only have to divide up their LA and math. If I go that route I will just do SL-P when Adrien is 6 and Camryn is 3 and 9 months. they are really only 2 yrs and 3 months apart and that is the closest of the four children.Since Adrien is not really ready for school yet and Camryn is my really smart girl child, I’m praying and hoping that they will encourage each other to do well.

Well I’m off to do some of the planning. Oh yes, we see the teacher who does our evaluations in two weeks, so I may not be around much as I need to put a few more things together before than.

Leave a Reply

